NaNoWriMo 2016

Hello, Everybody!

As promised, this post is dedicated to National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo. In case you were not aware, NaNoWriMo is THE writing event of all writing events that takes place every November. In short, it’s an internet-based challenge to write your book in 30 days, or at least 50,000 words of it.

Before I get on with this post, check it out! Sign up, get your profile all set, you know the drill…Did you do it? Cool. Moving right along…

NaNo is honestly amazing. I know this, not through person experience (because I’ve actually never officiallshield-nano-blue-brown-rgb-hiresy participated…I know, gasp!), but because it’s just a fact of life. I don’t even listen to NaNo haters because I think this event is the bee’s knees. An entire event dedicated to creating community and helping writers stay motivated to write every day, and not just every day but 1,667 words a day deserves a gold star in my book.
Some people don’t care for NaNoWriMo because they think it encourages poor writing. After all, writing that much every day can almost guarantee you’ll have some days where you are straight up vomiting onto the page, but (in case you forgot) all first drafts are shit so why the hell does this matter? You’re writing! That’s all that counts. At the end of November, you will have something to revise…or not! Whether you choose to take that next step is up to you, but at least you will have written 50,000 words (if not finished your book) and that’s pretty freaking cool…how many people can say that?

So, I am thrilled to publicly announce that I will, in fact, be participating in NaNoWriMo this year and I have every intention of winning. Not because I’m just that amazing, but because I find the possibility of public failure to be quite the motivator. And just to ensure I really get this shit done, I’m going to be recording a little snippet of what I’ve done every day of November in an effort to track my progress. And I’ll definitely be uploading that to the blog once December 1st rolls around because again…public failure is not fun.

While I would love to share my wisdom about NaNoWriMo with all of you, like I said, I’ve never done it before. I’m a newbie! So, instead of me trying to educate you on things I know absolutely nothing about (try me next November😎) I’m going to let other people do it for me. If NaNo is something that interests you, please, PLEASE, watch the videos below––they always get me super pumped and excited for this month and are a great source of information for us newbies!

And if you are a NaNo veteran (I apologize for my inexperience😬) please leave any words of wisdom you may have in the comments!

Good luck, you filthy animal

(I got a bit carried away with the vids…can you tell I’m excited?)

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. “all first drafts are shit” – I relate to this so much. I’m an English major and haven’t participated in nanowrimo, so I think it might be time to start. I think it’s a great inspiration to write for those who feel like they should, but don’t for any number of reasons.

    Like

Leave a Reply

