Let It Simmer

Hey pals

Okay, so I know that in my last post we went over the first draft and the importance of powering through and just bloody finishing it. Which I still stick by.

But there’s this pesky thing that can arise in the drafting process that screws that entire method over…it could come up during the first go around or the second or the third and it never, ever gets any easier to overcome. This lovely little thing is called getting stuck.

You know every little detail about your book except for this one thing. This one damn thing. And it’s never a small thing. No, of course not. It’s a huge detail that will shape the way your story unfolds. And you have absolutely no idea how to figure it out. You think on it for what seems like forever, but it seems like the more you think, the faster the solution runs away from you.

dont-think-too-muchHere’s where I contradict what I said in my last post (slightly). Because when it comes to getting this stuck, in my experience, the best thing to do is to take a step back. Don’t ignore the book entirely, that’s not helpful to anyone, but focus on something else within the manuscript. Something far, far away from the problem at hand.

Let the unresolved issue hang out in the back of your mind for a while. I can almost guarantee that once you do this, once you let go of the obsession of finding a solution, it’ll come to you. And it will be everything you were trying to grasp before.

Stop stressing, stop obsessing. Be patient.

If you’re like me you’re going to hate this advice. I hate being patient. I hate waiting things out. I want a solution now. But, I swear by this method. It’s painful to go through, to let go of the one thing you need to figure out most in this world, but the payoff is so worth it. By taking a step back, you’re allowing your brain to refocus. It might take a week or even a month (ugh, gag me), but eventually, your brain is going to reward you for letting it work quietly in the background. Eventually, the answer to your big question is going to hit you in the face and make you cry tears of joy.

Alright, that’s all I got for today.

Happy writing, beauties.

Leave a Reply

